The Buffalo Trace District Health Department is governed by the Buffalo Trace District Board of Health (BTDBoH).

The board is composed of five people: three elected representatives from the Mason Public Health Taxing District Board and two elected representatives from the Robertson Public Health Taxing District Board. The Public Health Director serves as the secretary of the board.

The BTDBoH meets quarterly in the board room at the Mason County Health Department.